World Cup Final Eats

It’s a difficult thing, knowing what to cook for the World Cup final.
It is so very hot here in France at the moment, that even boiling an egg sends the kitchen into over heat mode – not to mention the cook as well.
I have decided on something pretty simple.
I have two chickens to roast, which can cook themselves while I watch the TV.
I rub in some gros sel and liberally douse the birds with good olive oil. I then squeeze the juice of two small lemons over them and shove the fruit inside the carcass for further flavour. I bash some garlic cloves, as many as I fancy and put them under the skin and also inside, and that’s pretty much it.
I blast them for about on about 220 degrees for about 30 minutes, and then turn down for about another 90 minutes on 160 degrees. I tend to cook them breast side down and this prevents the leaner meat drying out.
As a side dish I chop up red onion, tomato and cucumber, plus I throw in some cubes of goat’s cheese. Add a bit of salt and pepper, good olive oil and balsamic vinegar and stir before serving.
Copious amounts of French bread to mop up the sauce from the chickens and the salad, and that is it.
Quick, tasty and football friendly.
I will attempt to post up a photo if it doesn’t get devoured too quickly a bit later

Leave a comment