The Twenty Euro Challenge:

I like a challenge, even when it’s with myself. That way, I have more chance of winning.
Like so many Foodies, I am often concerned with the Shopping/Price/Time/Recipe/ conundrum. I can’t count the times I have gone into the shops and bought random items until my trolley looks like it might feed us for a week, checked out, gone home and then wondered what the hell I was actually going to make with my purchases.
I suppose it is a bit easier in the UK. There I think there is a greater choice of pre-prepared food (e.g. Ceasar salad) and ready meals (take out style Indian, Chinese, Thai etc).
Here in France, particularly in the more rural areas, it’s quite a different story. Yes, there is an array of quick meals, but none of them are to my taste, although I am not averse to a pizza or chicken cooked in house from the local supermarket. Both are quite good actually. Other than that, nothing really pushes my buttons.
Fellow cooks agree – even those who relied almost entirely on ready meals in the UK have been forced into the reality that so much more here has to be cooked from scratch.
I think this is quite positive – I know at least four people who have turned into fine cooks out of necessity, who then go on to realise that the stunning array of fresh produce in the area makes eating, and even cooking a renewed pleasure.
So with those thoughts running around in my head, I visited my local supermarket to set about this challenge. I spend 20 euros, and this is what I had.

A large bunch of green asparagus
2 large goose eggs
10 large “cuisse de poulet” shallots
2 large bulbs of fresh, new season garlic
A kilo of small dessert apples
A loaf of sourdough bread
2 stalks of broccoli
A lettuce
A red and green pepper
A kilo of tomatoes on the vine
300g of button mushrooms.

The asparagus and goose eggs came to 8 euros, but a little luxury makes life just a bit sweeter I think

The challenge
Using the above ingredients, I am going to see what I can put together. I am allowing myself the free use of the freezer, dried and canned goods from the larder, plus the usual staples lurking in the fridge. I won’t be using huge chunks of meat or a frozen chilli or curry from an earlier cooking spree – even I know that’s cheating.
And that’s it. Pure and simple. Fancy having a go?
If you are, join in the fun here or add your comments to the bottom of this post.

2 thoughts on “The Twenty Euro Challenge:

  1. What a great idea. Every time I go to to the supermarket I end up buying far more than I need, then it either goes into the freezer, to be forgotten about, or into the fridge and used frantically in random combinations.

    However, I would just like to note that whilst ready-meals are more available in the UK I hate them – they’re chock-full of sodium and artificial preservatives. They’re also expensive. I always make my food from scratch because I’m against pre-prepared meals… maybe I’d better move to France!

    Jax x

  2. Dear Ms Haddock
    I await with interest to see what you come up with.
    Totally relate to this blog entry, as nearly every week I drive 25km to the organic store, buy a whole load of fruit and veg and when I get it home, still wonder what to eat. What about gazpacho with the tomotoes and risotto with asparagus or mushrooms. Bon courage

    mimi pompom

Leave a Reply

