Sunday 15th March 2009

diary
I have my own personal Jiminey Cricket. He masquerades as my husband. He is admittedly, rather too corpulent to sit on my shoulder, but nevertheless he is forever whispering in my ear. His usual chant involves nagging me to make more entries in my blog. My retort is often based on the “quality not quantity” principle. As ever, annoyingly, he is right. So, in an attempt to get into the swing of writing on a more frequent basis, I will try and write a brief diary entry on the days I am not penning a major blog overture.I am very grateful to Elisabeth Winkler’s insightful tips on how to start to write a piece – she suggests setting a timed slot of ten minutes to one side to start the process – it is simple but effective, and just about the right length for a diary entry.
Thank you Elisabeth.

5 thoughts on “Sunday 15th March 2009

  1. Thanks, Haddock! I think I need to take my own advice. I too am behind on blogging…. But a 10-minute diary entry with photo is manageable. Hmnnn yes good idea.

    I use the 10-minute rule when I am feeling overwhelmed by a large piece of work – helps me break it down into manageable size chunks.

    But it’s a good idea to apply it to I’m-too-busy-to-blog Blogging.

    Thanks Haddock
    from Winkler.

  2. Pingback: Rice is nice « Real Food Lover

  3. Two people on reading your latest comment on my blog have said to me: how do you cook brown rice in the Aga?

    Please tell me the amounts to use! Over to you, Capitaine Haddock! Will you please enlighten us?

    • The twice the water to rice ration doesn’t really work as it needs longer to cook, so I use about a cup of rice to about 2 and a half of water, I add a little salt as well – I bring to the boil on the hot plate and then place on the floor of the simmering oven and allow about 40 minutes – the grains are huge when cooked, and I love it that way – if you like it a bit crunchier, stick to 2 cups of water – this only works in the Aga as the simmering oven is so gentle that is doesn’t burn – I forgot some rice on day, and it was in there for over 5 hours – it was still edible – true story! Anyway, enjoy…………..

    • The twice the water to rice ration doesn’t really work as it needs longer to cook, so I use about a cup of rice to about 2 and a half of water, I add a little salt as well – I bring to the boil on the hot plate and then place on the floor of the simmering oven and allow about 40 minutes – the grains are huge when cooked, and I love it that way – if you like it a bit crunchier, stick to 2 cups of water – this only works in the Aga as the simmering oven is so gentle that is doesn’t burn – I forgot some rice on day, and it was in there for over 5 hours – it was still edible – true story! Anyway, enjoy…………..

Leave a Reply

